Colouring projects, Gesina's colourings, Our colouring materials

Kuretake Gansai Tambi Watercolours

Klik hier voor Nederlands

A while ago it was my birthday and one of the gifts I got was the Gansai Tambi Watercolours set by Kuretake. It’s a beautiful green box with 36 watercolours inside, all of them poured into their own removable pan. At first I thought the colours were quite dark, untill I coloured in the colourchart that came in the lid. The colours are stunning and so vivid! All of them have lots of pigment and are opaque. I needed very little paint to fill the squares.

Kurekate verfIMG_0004

IMG_0005IMG_0007

Kurekate verf binnenkant

First I tried out the watercolours on a couple of cherryblossomKersenbloesem Gesina colouringpages. The first try wasn’t a great succes, since all of the leaves turned out the same colour. I got really frustrated and had a rage quit. On my next try I tried to have more patience in letting the water dry more. This worked and resulted in this beautiful piece ☺. After some more practice I’d like to do a page in my Kimono colouringbook that I got for my birthday last year. Thanks for this awesome gift!

Happy colouring!✐

Nederlands

Een tijd geleden was het mijn verjaardag. Een van de cadeaus die ik gekregen heb is de Gansai Tambi Waterverf van Kuretake. Het is een mooie groene doos waar 36 kleuren inzitten, allemaal gegoten in een eigen uitneembaar bakje. In de eerste instantie vond ik de kleuren erg donker, tot ik de bijgeleverde kleurenkaart invulde. De kleuren zijn echt ontzettend mooi en dekken goed. Ik had maar een heel klein beetje verf nodig om het vakje te vullen.

Kurekate verfIMG_0004

IMG_0005IMG_0007

Kurekate verf binnenkant

Ik heb de verf eerst uitgeprobeerd op een een aantal kleurplaten van kersenblKersenbloesem Gesinaoesem. Bij de eerste poging werden alle blaadjes steeds dezelfde egale kleur, wat tot mijn frustratie niet de bedoeling was. De tweede keer probeerde ik het met wat meer geduld, door het water tussendoor steeds goed te laten drogen. Op deze manier lukte het wel, met een ontzettend mooi resultaat ☺. Na nog wat oefenen wil ik graag een plaat uit mijn Kimono kleurboek doen, die ik vorig jaar voor mijn verjaardag heb gekregen. Bedankt voor dit prachtige cadeau!

Happy colouring!✐

8 thoughts on “Kuretake Gansai Tambi Watercolours”

  1. I have the same Kuretake 36 color set and I like it! It just need to try and find the way this type of watercolor works since are quite different but when you get them then you would be happy! I see you managed them well I love the cherry blossom it turned out lovely! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Colouring with these watercolours can be quite tricky indeed. I’m now practicing on a drawing of a bird, but I have a lot of problems with runs, bleeds and hard edges.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes it is tricky also it depends of what type of paper we use, keep in mind that Japanese artists they paint on a different type of paper it is a rice paper. I made some searches and I am going to try the “Hanshi paper” is supposed to be good for ink washes, watercolors and ink calligraphy with brushes you can find it on Amazon or art stores that sell Japanese art materials. I think the paper will make a great difference. This paper is not too expensive so can be good to try out! 😉

        Like

      2. I haven’t found Japanese paper that I can buy here yet. So i’m still working on regular watercolour paper. It can take some water, but it still damages quick. How is that with the rice paper?

        Like

Leave a Reply

